About 6 months ago, April 16th I became an insta-dad. Before that it was just Susan and our 2 dogs, 2 cats, and the goldfish in the pond and me. Now, I have never become a dad the “normal” way, but I would guess that my way has been more challenging and a lot more fun. Here’s some thoughts on becoming an insta-dad:

  • Most challenging thing: Amount of energy required to play with a 5, 3, and 1 year old.
  • Thing that’s increased the most: The amount of laughter in the house. It’s also highly contagious, so not only are the increasing the amount by themselves, but they have increased our rate of laughter as well. Although milk consumed would come in a close second since it has more than doubled.
  • Funniest thing to occur: Estifanos was drinking water and playing with it in his mouth instead of swallowing it. But then he started choking on it (maybe it went down the wrong throat). Which caused a gauge reflex. Which caused him to start throwing up (mostly the water). Which caused him to bust up laughing. Which caused the rest of us to start laughing….maybe you had to be there
  • Grossest thing to occur: See funniest, because what I didn’t tell you was that I was sitting with Yordanos on the floor underneath him and we got throw up all over us. Before being a parent, I never thought I would laugh about get thrown up on.
  • Most surprising thing: How quickly the older kids picked up English. Yordie even said, “night, night” last night when going to bed.
  • Thing I was most afraid about that turned out OK: Diapers; they’re really not as scary as they look.
  • Thing I thought would be easy but isn’t: Being a good soccer dad. It’s just so darn hard to keep your mouth shut, but 5 year-olds are not capable of hearing their name and not look and see who is cheering for them. And then there’s the whole, cheering for the other team.
