So this is my 28th post; I’ve posted something Mon-Fri since I started, and this is the first time I’ve had trouble coming up with something to say. Is it possible that I’ve run out of things to say so quickly? I’m assuming this is normal for a new blogger?

I guess the problem is that I haven’t got a clue what the theme of this blog is about. I could write about parenting, but being a new parent (thrown into things), I think it would end up being more questions than answers.

I could post more about the kids, but I don’t really want them to be focused. I don’t mind talking about them, but they shouldn’t have to be worried that anything they do is going to end up out in cyberspace for everyone to read. Plus, to be perfectly honest, I think people who are interested in reading about other people’s kids that they have never met is a little weird (sorry, I know you’re out there reading this, and you probably do it because you just like kids, but I find it odd that people can take the time out of their busy schedules to read about kids they haven’t even met…maybe it’s just that I read slower than the rest of you).

I could write more about adoption (which I do feel somewhat passionate about), but there’s so many other blogs about adoption, I’m sure my voice isn’t that much better than any of theirs (especially since some of them get paid to blog…maybe that would help me find my voice). Plus, I’m not sure I want to talk that much about our decision to adopt; it’s kind of a personal decision.

I could just not post everyday. But my readership is low enough as it is, that I’m sure it would drop even more if I posted only when I had something really interesting to say. Of course, I guess all the people that took my suggestion to read me via feeds would probably come back. The idea of writing for so few people is unattractive to me; I don’t find writing all that therapeutic; I write because I have a (perhaps delusional) hope/expectation that it’s entertaining to others.

I certainly like the spike in readership when I post a WFMW, so maybe I should just do memes all the time, but when you get right down to it, it seems so fake since most of those people don’t come back.

I think the main problem is that it takes me so dang long to write (I’m a scientist after all). I’m good at one liners, but coming up with an intelligent posts (and correcting all the spelling errors) takes longer than I’d like. Perhaps I should just go back to writing comments on other peoples blogs and answering questions/giving my opinion on Yahoo Adoption Groups.

The Web Round Up is done for tomorrow, so I guess I have until Monday to figure out where this blog is going. Suggestions are welcome.

