Ok, so this is a little late, but you know, I had to go tell you to vote last week:

50% of the houses we went to on Halloween who had their porch light on didn’t answer their door. When I was a kid, that was the international sign for whether you had candy or not. If the light was on, come on up. If the light was off, we’re not home or too cheap or too Christian (well, I guess you can’t be too Christian, but you get the point, we’re not celebrating ‘cuz its against our religion) to give out candy. Why the heck am I schlepping my kids all the way to your front door and standing there waiting for you to answer the door when you’re not going to? Is it really that hard to turn off your light. And while I’m at it, why haven’t you told your older children about this long held meaning; we turned our lights out around 8:30 as we were trying to get the kids to bed, but your teenagers still felt compelled to ring our doorbell.

When over the last 23 years did the porch light on/off loose it’s meaning? Or is this just a Northern California thing? Maybe I should go make it into a Wikipedia entry or something.

Stepping down.

Do you have something that you’d like to share? I’m sure I don’t have enough readers to start my own meme, but feel free to post a rant on your blog and link back here any Tuesday, and maybe you’ll get a few new readers to share your opinion with.

