On Monday, the three kids were off from school in honor of MLK.  My five year old and I had talked over the weekend about what this holiday meant.  She had said, “I don’t have to go to school on Monday, yipee.”   I discussed with her how MLK affected her life, which basically consisted of “good and bad people” with MLK being a great person.  Apparently they talked about it at school because on Tuesday she came home from school and asked Brian, “Why did they kill him?”  I let the Dad handle that question. 

 Back to Monday, when Brian had to work, so I got to stay home with the three kiddos.  It had been extremely cold for Southern California all weekend, and they had been “cooped up,” so I decided to take them to the park and have a picnic.  Although it was still freezing, mom took one for the team.  On the way to the park, my daughter says, “Today is the King’s Birthday.”  It took me a minute to understand what she was trying to say.  I said, “Yep it is.”

A parent being alone at the park with three kids is often a challenge.  The older kids want me to push them on the swings, but the baby then starts screaming.  All three kids run in different directions at the same time.  Yordie tries to play with other people’s toys, and yells”MINE” at every kid who tries to slide down the slide. 

 Also, as a new mom, I am worried about where they are constantly.  I don’t know if it is having watched too many Lifetime movies, too much America’s Most Wanted, or the fact that I am a social worker, and have seen alot of the “bad side of life” in my work,  but I am extemely cautious when I am alone in public with my kids. 

So we had an enjoyable afternoon at the park.  The Picnic, or “Pancake” as my kids like to call them, was a fun time for all.

Three funny things my kids did this week:

My 4 year old started doing an, “I’m getting Desert Dance” in the middle of the kitchen.

My son and older daughter had a fight so he took his 20 month old baby sister by the hand and stated, “We’re leaving because we don’t want to play with you anymore.”  He then shut my daughter’s bedroom door firmly and headed back to their room.

My 5 1/2 year old stating, “Mom we need to read the Bible; you know it is the most important book in the world.”

