The thing I like most about doing the girls hair is how the learning curve is so steep. Your first attempt at a new style is usually so poor that you can’t even take them out in public, by the 3rd or 4th attempt you’re usually at tolerable state, and by the 6th or 7th, you’re usually pretty proud of your work. I don’t know, maybe it’s all my superfluous schooling, but I really like something that you can master in such a short time.

Here’s my first attempt at flat twists:

right side flat twists hairfront flat twists hairleft side flat twists hair

You can actually see the learning curve with the different twists. Can you figure out which was my first one and which was my last? The answer and a few tips under the fold.

right side flat twists hair w/numbersfront flat twists hair w/numbersleft side flat twists hair w/numbers
I actually took the first one out it was so bad; so the one marked 1 is actually my second attempt.

I’m by no means an expert, but here are the things I learned from my first attempt:

  • As you twist the two strands, twirl them individually in the same direction.
  • Twist near the base. There’s no need to twist farther than you need to get to the next addition of hair.
  • I added chucks of hair to the next strand that were about 1/2 the width of the twist (that is, the chunks were a rectangle of width X and length 0.5X). I think it might look nicer if you added even smaller chunks, but it would take a lot longer.
  • I braided the ends when I reached the crown. I just took the two strands from the twists and  used the last chunk as the 3rd stand.
  • Smaller width ones look better than the wider ones (but you’ll have to do more).

Anyone who’s done this style have any comments on my tips or things I missed?

