I’ve always wondered what I would answer if I were ever became a famous actor, made it onto Inside the Actors Studio, and had to answer the question, “What is the one profession you would not want to do?” After this weekend, I think I know my answer: tile layer.

The first layer of stick on linoleum came up no problem (15 minutes work, tops). I didn’t think to take a picture until it was already in the trash (easy tasks don’t make good blog entries):

first layer of tiles in the trash

Unfortunately, there was a second layer underneath the first. I should have figured this wasn’t going to be easy; the second layer didn’t come up as easy as the first. I fact each 1ft square broke into about 144 pieces as I scraped it up. Here’s what it looked like towards the end after a few hours of scraping.

2nd layer of tiles broken up

Finally I was able to go rent the tile saw and cut all the pieces.  I’ve never been so happy to have such a small bathroom.  I’m not a total perfectionist, but it seems like there’s always a little more you can cut (especially on the curved parts). Finally at 10 minutes to midnight I laid the last tile. Here it is with the blue spacers still in their spots:

tiles layed no grout

Yordie seems pleased (the next morning when she saw it, don’t worry we don’t keep them up till midnight):

yordie likes it

When I woke up on Sunday, boy was I sore. But the grout still had to be done, so another few hours on my hands and knees. The final product looks pretty good (new baseboard needs to be put down, but that will have to wait for another weekend):

tiles finished with grout

But man am I sore. I could barely walk when I woke up on Monday. All day at work I was walking around like I just got off a horse.  Today is a little better, but getting up and down out of chairs is a real problem still.

I’m not sure the couple hundred dollars we saved was worth giving up a weekend of playing with the kids. Of course, we don’t have the money to pay someone right now, so if I hadn’t done it, it wouldn’t have been done for a few months.  But I don’t know, I think the wait might have been worth it unless my legs get back to full functioning in a day or two.

