I’m a little stressed right now. On Wednesday, I opened my e-mail and found an e-mail containing (amongst others) the following lines:

As it so happens I’m looking for qualified people to write about biotech companies to expand our coverage.

and

If you’re at all interested in writing for us let me know and we can get the ball rolling.

Now if that doesn’t sound like a job offer, I don’t know what is. I was flattered and elated (and quite frankly a little shocked). It’s no secrete that I’d like to get out of the lab (it’s even in the about section of my other blog, which is why he contacted me). After an e-mail exchange discussing the time commitment and pay (Answers: could be full or part time and it depends), I got an e-mail that I need to fill out an application that goes to the managing editor.  I guess this isn’t a done deal after all.

Thursday morning I filled it out (including a sample article…as if my blog isn’t one big resume) and hit the submit button….SERVER ERROR (good thing I copied everything into a word document). Switch browser, fill everything out again…..SERVER ERROR…OK it’s probably not a problem on my end. E-mail the editor. He says to just send the sample article and my resume (I guess I wasted a lot of time coming up with witty answers to questions like, “What’s your favorite financial publications and why?”

And here I sit 24 hours since I sent in the e-mail…checking my e-mail 2 or 3 times an hour…checking Google Analytics to see if anyone from the town their headquarters is in has visited my blog. I jump every time my cell phone rings. It’s just like when we were waiting for our referral call.

Oh and did I mention that the contract that Susan’s company has with the county is up for re-bid, so we don’t know if she has a job after June 1st. They were supposed to find out last week, then this week, now she just found out that they will probably not know for at least 2 more weeks.

Any prayers you can spare would be greatly appreciated.

****************

And so on with the top 5 things I think you should read (reduced to 4 because I was busy writing a sample article for the application):

  • Another reason Dads should read to their kids.
  • An easy to make construction set made from PVC pipe. I’m a little afraid that it will result in kids hitting each other with the pipes, but Estifanos is into building things and puzzles right now, so we might give this a try. (Hat tip: Parent Hacks)
  • Child abuse as reported by The Onion. 95% of kids report “…abuses ranging from less severe offenses, such as children being denied snacks just before dinner, to more egregious, long-term cases of neglect, such as never ever getting what they want, ever.” (Hat tip: Stroller Derby)
  • 4 ways to make a bad job good (not that my job is all that bad) Hat tip: Lifehacker.

Back to checking my e-mail.  What time do you think they leave on Friday afternoon, so I can relax until Monday?

